Community celebrates local achievers

A Myrtleford local described by his peers as someone who 'simply takes pleasure in doing his bit to make our community a better place' took out the top honour at this year's Alpine Shire Community Awards. 

29 January 2024

Paul Tanner, an active member and volunteer of many organisations throughout his life, received the Alpine Shire Citizen of the Year Award at the Myrtleford Australia Day event on January 26. 

Since arriving in Myrtleford in his late teens, Paul was involved with Myrtleford Rotaract – the Rotary Club's youth program – and went on to join the Myrtleford Football Netball Club (MFNC) and the Myrtleford Lions Club. 

Alpine Shire Mayor, John Forsyth, said Paul has dedicated 40-plus years along to MFNC, having held the role of Head Trainer since 2007, and has also helped run dozens of community events in the Shire. 

"Trust and respect are two dominant themes that stand out in the nominations received for Paul, and it is clear to see that he is a well-liked, trusted and respected member of the community," he said. 

"He is someone that leads by example and doesn't seek out accolades, but simply gives back to a community he loves. 

"I'd like to congratulate Paul on his incredible efforts, and for being awarded our 2024 Alpine Shire Citizen of the Year." 

Cr Forsyth congratulated all of the award winners and said the nominations showcased the breadth and depth of achievements across local communities. 

"This year's nominations unveiled a multitude of community members who are achieving wonderful things for the greater good of our communities  - whether they're excelling in their respective fields, contributing to the community, or demonstrating extraordinary strength and resilience," he said. 

"I'd like to thank and congratulate all of our Award winners and nominees for the work they do, and for helping to make the Alpine Shire such a special place to live, visit and enjoy." 

The Kiewa Valley was home to a number of Awards this year, with Bev Bantick from Tawonga South receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her dedication to the Mount Beauty Market for over 40 years, while the Mount Beauty Tennis Club was awarded Community Organisation of the Year, and the Mount Beauty Writers Festival awarded Community Event of the Year. 

The Kiewa Valley's Local Achiever was announced as Helen McDougall for her active roles in the Red Cross, Upper Kiewa Valley Support Services, Alpine FM Radio and the Uniting Church Op Shop. 

Baylin Ford was named the Local Young Achiever Kiewa Valley for his contributions to his community, including wildlife rescue, shifts at the Hospital Op Shop, and becoming a member of the CFA and the Upper Kiewa Valley Community Recovery Group. 

Along with Paul, who was named the Local Achiever Myrtleford and District, Hannah Pear was named Local Young Achiever Myrtleford and District, acknowledging her dedication to not only her education and tennis, but numerous volunteer roles in her local community. 

Porepunkah's Lois Beggs received the Local Achiever Bright and District Award for her commitment to ensuring children in the Alpine Shire are safe in the water for over three decades through teaching and volunteering. 

Local Young Achiever Bright & District was awarded to Wandiligong's Kira Mack – an active member of the Resilient Alpine Youth Squad, where she has been able to make a significant impact on her community through local events, and strengthening connections and partnerships. 

As a special one-off recognition, the Myrtleford Crackpots - two very talented and very mysterious individuals who shared a passion for mosaic art – were announced as Arts and Culture Ambassadors.  

Responsible for the original Mosaic Trail, which is now a well-loved tourist attraction in the region, the Crackpots have helped create a new and unique identity for Myrtleford, connecting locals and visitors with the nature, history and culture of the town. 

Learn more about the winners at



Rate this page