Council donates 600 plants for Schools Tree Day

31 July 2017

Mayor Ron Janas plants trees with students from Myrtleford-P12 on Schools Tree Day.

Students from four Alpine Shire schools have joined the national Schools Tree Day initiative to learn how to plant and care for seedlings, with Alpine Shire Council donating 600 trees to the cause.

Mayor Ron Janas joined students from Myrtleford P-12 in planting trees on Friday, with Cr Tony Keeble assisting students in Dederang. More trees are being planted today, with Cr Janas heading to Tawonga Primary and Cr Kitty Knappstein helping out at Bright P-12.

Alpine Shire Council has donated 600 plants across 19 species – including a range of canopy, shrub and groundcovers – to support the initiative.

Schools Tree Day officially fell on Friday 28 July, although events are encouraged at any time of year. The event was part of National Tree Day (Sunday 30 July), which has seen more than 3.8 million people plant in excess of 23 million trees and plants since the initiative started in 1996.

For Tawonga Primary, the tree planting coincides with a visit from Sustainability Victoria to present them with a star for their achievements in working toward becoming a more sustainable school under the ResourceSmart Schools program.

Image above: Mayor Ron Janas helps students plant trees at Myrtleford P-12.
Homepage image: Mayor Ron Janas (centre) with Myrtleford P-12 students (from left to right) Jaiden O’Brien, Heidi Murray, Jessica Cooper, Hannah Pear, Grace McKinnon, Riley Whittingham, Bella Pascoe and Olivia Buckley.

Powered by