Alpine Shire youth recognised at Awards

Alpine Shire’s youth congratulated at Awards

More than 200 people celebrated the achievements of local young people at the 2015 Alpine Shire Youth Awards last Friday.

The annual awards are run by the Alpine Shire Youth Council and attract nominations from across the shire in a range of categories.

Alpine Shire Council councillor John Forsyth said the awards were a great way to recognise the contributions young people make to their communities.

“This year, we received 75 award nominations of extremely high quality and I want to congratulate all the nominees and winners on their outstanding achievements,” Cr Forsyth said.

“There were a large number of nominees this year, and the depth and variations of what these young people have achieved is commendable and they should all be extremely proud of themselves.

“I was extremely impressed with the confidence our young people have - every single one of them who came up on stage carried themselves well and managed to be put on the spot and speak to a crowd of 220 people without seeming nervous, which was just fantastic.”

Cr Forsyth congratulated Alpine Shire Council Youth Development Officer Jenny Corser for organising the awards and Youth Mayor Taylor Farmer for her leadership skills.

“I also wanted to say what a great job our local teachers must be doing in producing confident youth and thank you to the mums and dads and carers who ferry the kids around to all the events throughout the Shire,” he said.

Guests were entertained by Tallon and Millie Smith, the Mount Beauty Secondary College Dance Troupe, Josh Lindsay, Zoe Mortella and guest speaker Tim Cope.

The winners were:

• Academic – Nathan DeVries, Marian College
• Arts – Breanna Johnson, Marian College
• Communtiy – Bright P12 College Students Group and Chloe Breen, Marian College
• Inspiration – Hope Ludbrook, Marian College
• Rural - Leah Orton, Myrtleford P12 College
• Sport – Phillip Bellingham, Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club
• Workplace – Brooke Rouse, Bright Coiffure
• Youth Award 12 – 17 – Samantha Forbes, Myrtleford P12 College
• Youth Award 18 – 24 – Phillip Bellingham, Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club

Cr Forsyth encouraged local young people to become involved with the Alpine Shire Youth Council.

“We have a fantastic bunch of young people sitting on the Alpine Shire Youth Council this year and they have all worked hard to make sure that our youth have a voice and that our youth are heard,” he said.

“The Youth Council meets monthly and organise events throughout the shire and they also encourage community spirit and unity and provide feedback to Senior Council on youth related issues – it’s a great way for our young people to become more involved in our community.”


For more information please contact Vanessa Burgess on 03 57550581

Powered by