Township Protection Plans introduced

THREE new Township Protection Plans have been submitted to Alpine Shire Council, bringing the total number of plans for the Alpine Shire to seven.

Township Protection Plans are developed and managed by the CFA, with input from the community, other emergency groups and Council.

New plans for Dederang, Tawonga and Mount Beauty and Tawonga South were introduced.

The format of plans for Bright and Wandiligong, Porepunkah, Harrietville and Bogong has been revised to bring them in line with new plans.

Council noted the new and revised plans at its Special Council Meeting on Tuesday, 20 December.

Director Infrastructure Services Ian Ellett said the plans would aid communities in their fire safety preparations.

“Council’s role is to work with the CFA and aid the development and distribution of Township Protection Plans in high risk locations,” he said.

“The plans will be mailed out to all relevant properties between mid-December and mid-January.”

The plans have been endorsed by the Municipal Emergency Management Planning Committee (MEMPC), a multi-agency committee with emergency management expertise.

They give residents a straightforward “go to” resource for local risk maps and bushfire safety information.

CFA Hume Regional Manager Alan Davies said that the plans “will help locals and visitors identify important community assets, primary roads to exit areas, where to go, survival options and important emergency contact information”.

“I urge every Victorian who receives one of these plans to keep it, consider the information carefully, and link it with your own household Bushfire Survival Plan,” he said.

“Bushfire and grassfire are an ever present danger in townships classified as having a bushfire risk of “very high” or “extreme”.

“Managing the risk is everyone’s responsibility and now is the time to start preparing.

Township Protection Plans are available online at

Powered by