Council thanks tourism board members

Council CEO Ian Nicholls has praised the contributions of the outgoing Great Alpine Valleys Tourism (GAVTB) board members saying they had ‘set the bar high’.

GAVTB Chair John Kroeger will relinquish his position along with fellow board members Sabine Helsper, Susan Anehagen and Andrew Wilson on 30 June.

“This group has progressed significant tourism issues for the Shire,” Mr Nicholls said.

“One of their key achievements was securing $433,000 in funding for the Alpine Explorer. They also pursued and gained community support for the Mount Buffalo skyways project. But perhaps their biggest achievement was implementing the Alpine Region Tourism Strategic Plan which guides Council’s tourism and marketing approach. The review of our sub-regional brand name which created the Great Alpine Valleys brand was also a significant achievement.

“Council is extremely thankful for their contribution and wish them all well in the future. They have certainly set the bar high and we hope that future members can follow their lead.”

Outgoing GAVTB Chair John Kroeger appealed for passionate people to fill the vacant roles on the tourism board.

“The board needs people with passion and commitment – doers rather than just talkers,” he told the Bright Observer (Wednesday 23 June).

“I appeal to people who have the desire to make a difference to step forward.”

Despite the board members stepping down, some have expressed interest in staying involved in long-running projects such as the Mount Buffalo skyways and the Alpine Explorer. Expressions of interest for the GAVTB close on Thursday, 1 July. For more information visit Council’s website.

Powered by