Council to consider two more Neighbourhood Safer Places

Alpine Shire Council, which has already declared five Neighbourhood Safer Places, will consider two more for adoption at its Council meeting next week.

Council CEO, Ian Nicholls said Council will consider declaring the Mount Beauty Sports Stadium and the Tawonga Memorial Hall as Neighbourhood Safer Places.

"If adopted, this will bring to seven the number of communities that are catered for by Neighbourhood Safer Places in our Shire. Staff and the Country Fire Authority (CFA) have been busy undertaking these assessments behind the scenes and continue to work on establishing them for other communities, including Dinner Plain," Mr Nicholls said.

The full list of Neighbourhood Safer Places, or places of last resort, in the Alpine Shire currently includes:.

Town(s) Neighbourhood Safer Place venue
Bright and Wandiligong Pioneer Park, Bright - oval and pavilion
Harrietville Harrietville Hall
Porepunkah Porepunkah Hall and oval
Dederang Dederang Recreation Reserve and Memorial Hall
Myrtleford RC McNamara Reserve and Ablett Pavilion

Mr Nicholls reminded residents and visitors that Neighbourhood Safer Places are intended as places of last resort.

"Many community members feel reassured that such a facility is available however, places of last resort should only be used if your Bushfire Survival Plan fails and you have nowhere else to go. Places of last resort also have no welfare facilities and may not provide shelter from smoke or embers," he said.

Details of the Neighbourhood Safer Places and the Township Protection Plans are available here , on community notice boards and community groups can request the information from Council by phoning (03) 5755 0555.

Powered by